Century Communities

Wors(303) 770-8300e Experience

Buyer Beware is all I have to say! We came to Century Communities in good faith to build us our dream home and then we would move to Utah from Arizona.

As you know, we were promised by Jason of Century Communities, what we consider to be a verbal agreement, to be in our house by Christmas 2018, and then the end of February/early March.

We are very displeased with the services that Century Communities has provided to us in building the house in Saratoga Springs, Utah.

We officially moved forward before August 4, 2018 and were told by Jason of Century Communities that we would be in our new house by Christmas 2018.

We have just recently been told that Jason is no longer with Century but what he promised us should still stand.

I asked Jason for a project timeline at least 5 different times but he kept promising that we would be in our house by Christmas which we were very much looking forward to.

In fact, we were not told that the date was going to be pushed out until after Christmas until we put down the nearly $14k to pay for the 25% of options, we picked out for housing upgrades which timing seems very suspect to me.

We last heard a date of March 15th 2019 and now it is targeted for March 31st, 2019.

It seems as if that will not happen now since framing has not even happened and Tiffany has said that it takes 90 days from framing and the wood isn’t even there yet.

For us to move forward with this house, we require an addendum to it.

We want you to know that we have put our lives on hold with this whole building process.

Moving states is a huge change in our lives. This affects all of us in our family.

My children have greatly been impacted by this.

My daughter, a sophomore, was not able to do the two things she loves: student council and the drama shows.

We told her we’re moving in December so it would not be responsible to take a spot knowing she couldn’t keep her commitment.

Now what do we tell her? She could have done these things since it seems our move is not happening this school year.

She missed out on something she enjoys doing and loses that on her high school transcript for colleges to see.

Also, guess what time high school students get to pick out their courses for the next year? March.

So now my daughter and son will not get to have first pick of the courses they want because they will not be in school in March because our house won’t be done.

Did you know the driver licenses laws in Arizona and Utah are different? Utah requires new drivers to take a Drivers Ed course before getting their license.

Most schools in AZ don’t have a Drivers Ed course.

So now my daughter will not get to drive when she’s 16, because she will now have to wait until the fall to take that course.

These are heartbreaking things to a 15-year-old. My boys have missed opportunities to be on school teams, community teams, etc because once again we thought we were moving.

It is now January 21, 2019 and we don’t even have the framing done on our house.

This is very frustrating to our family since this is the 3rdhouse that we have built and we have never had a worse experience in building our family a home.

We are moving from Chandler, AZ to Saratoga Springs, UT so there are many logistical items that we have to consider by moving out of state.

This significant delay has had many impacts on our lives including school, work and life decisioning.

We went up the chain of command to the president in Utah but he was unwilling to compensate us anything.

I called their corporate headquarters but no one ever even called me back. It was really like, we are a huge builder, we have your money, you have no choice and we are not going to do anything for you to make you feel like we are not screwing you.

The only good thing I have to say about Century is that they let us out of the contract and reimbursed us our money.

I would not build a house with them unless they were the last builder on earth. Good riddens!

The reviews, complaints and scams posted about Century Communities is permanant record located at https://dirtyscam.com/reviews/century-communities/ Search for all reviews, complaints, scams and lawsuits about Century Communities
The reviews, complaints and scams about Century Communities is posted by anonymous. We at dirty scam are not liable for the content posted about Century Communities. If you have any concern about this report, you can contact us by using this email.
Is Century Communities legit? Is Century Communities quack? Is Century Communities fake? Is Century Communities a fraud website or business or person? Please write down your review or report a fraud on dirtyscam.com to raise your voice, you might not be alone who was ripped off by Century Communities.
The reviews about Century Communities are no way affiliated with Yelp, BBB, Glassdoor, RipoffReport, Avvo, ConsumerAffairs, Realself, Vitals and Wikipedia.

Rate and write a review on Century Communities

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 reviews on Century Communities

  1. Buyer Beware is all I have to say!

    We came to Century Communities in good faith to build us our dream home and then we would move to Utah from Arizona. As you know, we were promised by Jason of Century Communities, what we consider to be a verbal agreement, to be in our house by Christmas 2018, and then the end of February/early March.

    We are very displeased with the services that Century Communities has provided to us in building the house in Saratoga Springs, Utah. We officially moved forward before August 4, 2018 and were told by Jason of Century Communities that we would be in our new house by Christmas 2018.

    We have just recently been told that Jason is no longer with Century but what he promised us should still stand. I asked Jason for a project timeline at least 5 different times but he kept promising that we would be in our house by Christmas which we were very much looking forward to. In fact, we were not told that the date was going to be pushed out until after Christmas until we put down the nearly $14k to pay for the 25% of options,

    we picked out for housing upgrades which timing seems very suspect to me. We last heard a date of March 15th 2019 and now it is targeted for March 31st, 2019. It seems as if that will not happen now since framing has not even happened and Tiffany has said that it takes 90 days from framing and the wood isn’t even there yet. For us to move forward with this house, we require an addendum to it.

  2. Absolute terrible experience from start to finish.

    Absolute terrible experience from start to finish. Let’s go back to the past, where me and my wife first discovered a newly built subdivision in our town of Covington GA. We go to check it out after viewing some of their homes for sell. The agent on duty was 30 minutes late to the appointment. No explanation or apology. We should have known right then the horror was just beginning…

    We tour the model home as none others are available to view. It looks nice and well put together. We inquire about other floor plans and their room sizes. We are informed that room sizes cannot be provided due to builder confidentiality. WHAT?!? So we discuss a few floor plans we like. We have many questions, as is normal for first time home buyers.

    Where is the lot, how will the house sit, what options are there? Normal, basic questions. None of which were answered. We were told “We would get back to you with these answers.” So after a few days of not getting answers we were finally contacted and told we would have answers the following day and we could sign the contract and present Ernest money.

  3. CENTURY COMMUNITIES WILL NEVER TAKE RESPONSIBILITY!

    House is beautiful but BEWARE OF YOUR OUTSIDE QUARTERS AND SLL SINKS FOR LEAKS SND WALL SMOOTHNESS AND PAINT JOB !!! We where told that our yard would be graded to a safe useful level. After we closed, because of focusing on house , main office forgot our concerns about our yard . When my husband went to cut the grass, he went tumbling nearly to his death .

    No company want to cut the grass for us and century is NO LONGER CONCERNED AFTER CLOSING!! Our yard is deemed unsafe . In order to make it safe to use , it will require an almost $20k investment . Who would have wanted to make this type of investment right after closing on there home? . These matters should be discussed prior to closing OR CENTURY COMMUNITIES WILL NEVER TAKE RESPONSIBILITY!

  4. Short story of my experience I have texts and emails of their lack of customer service.

    Short story of my experience I have texts and emails of their lack of customer service. February 2018 I decided to purchase a home in Kerman CA known as The Crossings. Well after a long 5 months I was sandbagged by the lender I was initially preapproved for the home loan. July 18, 2018 the lender asked that I give $17,000 to the lender so they can pay off my car and “other debt” which I would not agree to because I know what I owe and it’s not $17,000.

    Suddenly my loan could not be approved without agreeing to giving $17,000 on top of my $65,000 down payment. The home builder became unprofessional and continued to insist that I use their preferred lender which is known as steering.

    I found an outside lender that approved my loan but the home builder refused to allow an outside lender or provide an extension on the closing date which my contract stated I could request. After two weeks I decided to cancel my contract and have my deposit refunded the home builder made no effort to retain my business and processed the cancellation immediately. I’m sure another buyer was lined up on the home I put a deposit on they just needed me out of the way.

  5. Would not recommend buying one of these houses even to my worst enemy. And that's coming from someone on the inside.

    Would not recommend buying one of these houses even to my worst enemy. And that’s coming from someone on the inside. And to that end, I wouldn’t recommend working here to my worst enemy either. I couldn’t even in my wildest dreams come up with a more toxic work environment than with this company’s corporate office — which is reflected so clearly in the workmanship of the houses. BUYERS BEWARE.

  6. disappointed as a new home buyer- New Construction

    looked at community- paid deposit to purchase the lot. After finalizing and signing documentation- both my husband and my car were vandalized- losing valuable items. No one called, apologized , acknowledge the misfortune. Because we love their floor plans we went 25 miles from our preferred location. Didn’t have the floor plan desired but offered an upgrade- builder to pay $5k at closing so we settled.

    Two weeks later we were advised we could transfer out Earnest $7500- to the new construction- with a 6 month build time but we could obtain the floor plan we loved. A few days later we were advised we had been given wrong information- no ownership was taken- we were told we already have a home and we close in 30 days of a final close-out community..

  7. Century has been a disaster to work with.

    Century has been a disaster to work with. We closed in December and our contract included having flooring replaced. We were promised it would be done in January. Last week they finally came out, ripped up the carpet and baseboards, and then discovered they ordered the wrong flooring.

    We cannot get anyone to return calls or tell us when it will be fixed. My small children are prisoners in their rooms because of exposed flooring and nails. They will not return calls for repairs that were to be done at the 30 day mark either. I would never recommend Century Builders to anyone

  8. Absolutely horrible builder! Poor communication and no follow-through.

    Absolutely horrible builder! Poor communication and no follow-through. I purchased a home in Arvada, CO at their WestTown community. I had to deal with Jason Trujillo who is an absolute crook. The man ruined the floor that was installed in my house and then lied about it, but exposed his lie through conflicting stories.

    He handled himself in a very unprofessional manner and threatened and disrespected me on numerous occasions. Advice for anyone purchasing a home in this area: if Jason is scheduled to do your walkthrough, request someone else!

    I had four different closing dates scheduled prior to actually closing because they were months behind on the initial construction, and now I’ve owned the home for three months and still have things that need repaired on my home.

    Their construction team is absolutely horrible and does not know what they’re doing. I’ve had to work my way through the corporate offices to attempt to get things resolved, but they’re just as bad as the field workers. I’ve been dealing with Brian who is the VP, and he has no follow through either.

  9. WORST BUILDERS EVER!

    From the first day the start of the building of my NEW home, i seen red flags to not purchase this from this builder….in ELLENWOOD, GA! I found construction crew drinking beer on the job and bad construction throughout the house.

    I made complaints and of course they spoke to the crew to resolve the issue. I asked for a one car garage and they constructed it for a two car garage which is now seem to be giving me issues, my garage is getting wet. I had a general contractor come out last week to be told, the roofing, the front porch post and construction of the garage was POORLY done… really. Imagine if he came into the house to review.

    The day before I closed on my house, the foreman (BRAD) made promises to fixed things identified wrong (Day before Thanksgiving), but once i closed he did not honor not half of the issues, I have continuous problems and have proof through emails of the poor construction of a new home costing $192K.

    My front post on the porch is still sitting incorrectly, the stairs were stained incorrectly, they put different color gout in my bathroom (i paid additional for ceramic tile). My floors in the bathroom gout was a horrible mess, that they poorly redone.

  10. I would much appreciate a callback

    my wife and I purchased a new home last May and started construction right away,so anyway its been almost a year since we moved to our new home in Las Vegas from Denver and when we looked at the model homes we were sold on how much quality goes into these homes so we closed on our house last September and moved in right after and in October we started havin problems and as of today August 16th 2017 our house has not been finished so its been almost a year.

    weve had over 11 companies nd about 35 different workers make the repairs and some of them had to make the repairs more than once.now its time that someone from Denver headquarters contacts me and we try to come up with a solution because we are not happy and I would like to hear from anyone what rights we have at this point,my friend said I should call one of the t.v stations and see if they can get the right answers because its been 1 year and our house still has not been complete…

  11. I would have given negative rating for their planning, execution and ethics.

    Let me write down my recent experience with CenturyCommunities “Enclave at Pine groove” Parker CO. They were pre-selling it so I went ahead and choose one of the lot and waiting for contract document.

    first attempt contract document came up with incorrect features listed in it as included features and I asked for clarification they said its software fault we will sent you another.

    They sent corrected one, I took couple of day to read it and signed it in afternoon later in evening they called and said lots are not for sale which I choose WTH! Are you kidding me to waste my time and others?

  12. If I could provide negative stars, I would!

    If I could provide negative stars, I would! Century Homes is one of the worst builders that I have ever encountered – and I have built 3 other homes. It has taken 2 YEARS AND 6 MONTHS to complete the items on my closing walkthru list!!! AND I had to file complaints with the BBB to get the company to address them.

    DO NOT buy a home from Century. They have high turnover of their staff and contractors, have horrible customer service and will waste huge amounts of your time.

  13. Worst Company

    She could have done these things since it seems our move is not happening this school year. She missed out on something she enjoys doing and loses that on her high school transcript for colleges to see. Also, guess what time high school students get to pick out their courses for the next year? March.

    So now my daughter and son will not get to have first pick of the courses they want because they will not be in school in March because our house won’t be done. Did you know the driver licenses laws in Arizona and Utah are different? Utah requires new drivers to take a Drivers Ed course before getting their license. Most schools in AZ don’t have a Drivers Ed course. So now my daughter will not get to drive when she’s 16, because she will now have to wait until the fall to take that course.

    These are heartbreaking things to a 15-year-old. My boys have missed opportunities to be on school teams, community teams, etc because once again we thought we were moving.

East Crescent Parkway 8390
Englewood 80111 CO US
Get directions
Reviews:13
Reported Loss :3245 $
Severity of Scam :High
Reported by : Anonymous
Views :