EnerBank USA

Terrible Company!

Please, save yourself, if you don’t have an EnerBank USA loan, please DO NOT get one.

This was one of the worst decisions I have ever made; they are an absolutely terrible company.

I have an EnerBank USA loan and was, again, disappointed by them.

My draft date is the 20th of each month, but yesterday on 01/28/2019, I noticed the money still hadn’t come out of my account from the 01/20/2019 draft.

I received an automated Payment Receipt email from EnerBank USA on Friday 01/25/2019, stating that the money had come out; but it was for a different amount than I have withdrawn each month, and on a different date, showing 01/25/2019 and not 01/20/2019.

Looking at my checking account, the money was still not out of my checking account.

I called and spoke to a rep named Mindy. Mindy did not verify any of the necessary security questions to protect customers against fraud (such as my name, address, DOB, etc).

She immediately began speaking with me about my private, sensitive, account information.

This made me very concerned and upset, as this leaves ALL EnerBank USA’s customer information at risk; anyone could call in and get this information.

Mindy stated that the website did “something weird,” and did not draft on any loans with a draft date of the 20th in January 2019.

I requested to speak with a Supervisor, as Mindy did not sound confident in what she was telling me.

She stated that no Supervisors were available, and that I would have to leave a voicemail.

I told her I would want, because I wanted to handle this while on the call. She said I could not wait on the line until a Supervisor became available.

She stated she could try to get a Specialist on the phone. I was put on hold for over 10 minutes.

She came back and stated that no Supervisors and/or Specialists were on the phone, but that she was speaking to her Trainer, a woman named Taylor.

Taylor apparently conveyed to Mindy that the fact that the normal scheduled amount did not occur on 01/20/2019 was a system glitch, and it should go back to normal February 02/2019.

I do see today, 01/29/2019, the money is as a Pending charge on my checking account.

All in all, this call took 35 minutes, or more, to find out something that should have taken 3 minutes, tops.

I am, again, astounded at how bad EnerBank USA’s customer service is. If this was indeed a system glitch, why not send out a quick email to customers with those draft dates, letting them know? Terrible company!

The reviews, complaints and scams posted about EnerBank USA is permanant record located at dirtyscam.com/reviews/enerbank-usa/ Search for all reviews, complaints, scams and lawsuits about EnerBank USA
EnerBank USA reviews are no way affiliated with yelp & reddit. Their business is located at 1245 Brickyard Rd #600, Salt Lake City, UT 84106, USA. EnerBank USA could be contacted by dialing (888) 390-1220 or logging on their website enerbank.com. EnerBank USA business page on Dirty Scam received 43 consumers reviews/complaints, page views and 3252$ of monetary losses. The most of the users reported the severity of the scam is Medium.
Is EnerBank USA legit? Is EnerBank USA quack? Is EnerBank USA fake? Is EnerBank USA a fraud website or business or person? Please write down your review or report a fraud on dirtyscam.com to raise your voice, you might not be alone who was ripped off by EnerBank USA.
The reviews, complaints and scams about EnerBank USA is posted by anonymous. We at dirty scam are not liable for the content posted about EnerBank USA. If you have any concern about this report, you can contact us by using this email.

Rate and write a review on EnerBank USA

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

43 reviews on EnerBank USA

  1. not even the payment website.

    EnerBank USA makes it as painful as possible to pay off your loan. You will of course ask yourself, “What is the balance of my account?” Unfortunately, EnerBank USA does not provide you with this information,

    except via their mailed statements. You do not receive a statement via email, and they do not display the balance on any of their websites; not even the payment website.

  2. DO NOT use EnerBank USA for your loan.

    you think you’re all set; however, during the time that it takes your check to reach the payment processing center, plus the week that EnerBank USA holds your check without cashing it for no other reason than they can, your account is accruing interest. So, long after you think you paid off your account, you receive a notification that your payment is due. But, what payment? The payment that covers the interest that EnerBank USA unjustly charged you for their meandering.

    If you are like me, you receive this notification of a payment due and have no choice but to call customer support, where luckily they will give you your account balance. The only way to pay off the balance at this point is to pay online, which as mentioned, will cost you an extra $4.95 on top of all the interest you were scammed into accruing.

  3. Unfortunately

    Their customer service agents are so unprofessional and their lack of knowledge is appalling. Needless is to say that the companies that they work with (like the one that I bought the air conditioning from) are extremely unethical and dealing with Enerbank and Aspen Air Conditioning has been a complete nightmare.

    Unfortunately, these companies try to take advantage of customers not realizing that we are intelligent and that in my case we have an Attorney and a Judge working in the family

  4. Don't..........This bank is stealing money from consumers.

    Don’t……….This bank is stealing money from consumers. It would be more economical to charge your roof on a credit card.

    The terms of the loan are never disclosed. you will end up paying double the loan amount – 20 year loans at super high interest.

  5. Terrible to deal with.

    Terrible to deal with. No statements sent, no amortization schedule of how your payments are applied. No way to check balances on a regular basis. No one hides this much information from their customers unless they are scamming.

    I have turned them over to the FDIC and the CFPB and I hope that they will be forced to regularly provide basic statements to their customers.

  6. I set up automatic payments at the beginning of the loan.

    I set up automatic payments at the beginning of the loan. That worked for at least a year – then they lost my information and began charging late fees. Once I got that straightened out, automatic payments went for a few months – then they started charging a late fee every month.

    As soon as I could do so, I paid off this loan. Worst-handled loan payment system I’ve ever dealt with. You may not have any other options, but avoid this company if you can!

  7. This institution seems very suspicious.

    This institution seems very suspicious. Ph no on statement takes you to umpteen sales pitches. WHY? Desperate for business? Too bad you have no way of knowing all this because the businesses do business with this bank! Kickbacks must be worth it. First question should be, ‘what bank do you deal with’?

  8. They are a fraudulent company

    I wish i can give 0 stars is the worst bank to work with. If you want a loan do iit with anybody except for them. They are a fraudulent company

  9. O NOT get a loan from this company

    DO NOT get a loan from this company, if something happens to you and you are unable to talk to them they will refuse to talk to a family member especially if you were in the process of paying the loan off before the interest started. My father became unable to take care of his finances and once we paid off the payment book we thought the loan was paid (before interest),

    they sent a bill for another payment due – when I called asking about the bill they refused to talk to me even when I stated my father could not talk to them because of his health. They finally sent a copy of the contract in my father’s name after the time was up to pay the loan without interest.

    The bill was paid with additional payments sent in stating to apply to the principal – these payments were still applied partially to the interest and the next bill stated no payment was due until.

  10. Bad Service

    We were transferred to multiple people all stating this loan was now my mother’s responsibility because she lived in the house and a lien would “probably” be placed on the house if the loan wasn’t paid. We weren’t trying to avoid paying what was owed but were questioning how the payments were being applied and wanted an accurate amount that was owed now.

    The last person I talked to stated the payments are government regulated and even though no payment was due until June none of that amount could be applied to the principal,

    it was all interest due.We requested a payoff amount be sent to us via mail for the amount due as of the end of July because of the threat of a lien being placed on the house and the woman tried to get us to continue with the loan payments that are in place.

    Very shady business – but we will see if they really send the bill to us or stretch this out farther to collect more interest. Do not take a loan out with this company they will not work with your family if something happens to you.

  11. 'what bank do you deal with'

    This institution seems very suspicious. Ph no on statement takes you to umpteen sales pitches. WHY? Desperate for business? Too bad you have no way of knowing all this because the businesses do business with this bank! Kickbacks must be worth it. First question should be, ‘what bank do you deal with’?

  12. They are a fraudulent company

    I wish i can give 0 stars is the worst bank to work with. If you want a loan do iit with anybody except for them.

  13. They are a fraudulent company

    I wish i can give 0 stars is the worst bank to work with. If you want a loan do iit with anybody except for them.

  14. Scammer

    I finally got through to someone that stated they could talk to my mother (her name is not on the loan nor is there anything in the loan papers stating she is the only authorized person on the account upon his death) but will not talk to me – I had my mother pick up the phone.

    We were transferred to multiple people all stating this loan was now my mother’s responsibility because she lived in the house and a lien would “probably” be placed on the house if the loan wasn’t paid.

    We weren’t trying to avoid paying what was owed but were questioning how the payments were being applied and wanted an accurate amount that was owed now.

  15. Don't..........This bank is stealing money from consumers.

    Don’t……….This bank is stealing money from consumers. It would be more economical to charge your roof on a credit card. The terms of the loan are never disclosed. you will end up paying double the loan amount – 20 year loans at super high interest.

  16. I sincerely believe that this is predatory lending.

    Well, I just received my first actual statement from EnerBank and have come to realize that I am paying more on interest than on my principal. I am paying 144.21 every month. For the month of April, 2016, $60.44 went to principal and $83.77 went to interest.

    The original amount of the loan wasn’t but $7500.00, and I’ve been paying on this loan since Jan. 2012. EnerBank told me that their daily accrued interest is $2.96 per day, and that I wouldn’t be paying my loan off until 2021. I have absolutely no contract that was ever given to me stating any of this information.

    I was told by them via telephone that I have to pay 120 payments which equals out to being over $17,000 by the time I’m done paying them. If I had been informed by EnerBank that a $7,500 job was eventually going to cost me over $17,000, I would have never used them. I would have just waited and financed through another bank. I sincerely believe that this is predatory lending.

  17. Very easy process.

    Very easy process. Customer service were super friendly and easy to work with. The application process was fast and very simple. We would definitely recommend EnerBank USA to our friends and family.

  18. Good Happy Service

    Could not have been easier, a huge help in deciding which home improvement option was right.

  19. I set up automatic payments at the beginning of the loan.

    I set up automatic payments at the beginning of the loan. That worked for at least a year – then they lost my information and began charging late fees. Once I got that straightened out, automatic payments went for a few months – then they started charging a late fee every month.

    As soon as I could do so, I paid off this loan. Worst-handled loan payment system I’ve ever dealt with. You may not have any other options, but avoid this company if you can!

  20. This institution seems very suspicious.

    This institution seems very suspicious. Ph no on statement takes you to umpteen sales pitches. WHY? Desperate for business? Too bad you have no way of knowing all this because the businesses do business with this bank! Kickbacks must be worth it. First question should be, ‘what bank do you deal with’?

  21. They are a fraudulent company

    I wish i can give 0 stars is the worst bank to work with. If you want a loan do iit with anybody except for them.

  22. Scammer

    I finally got through to someone that stated they could talk to my mother (her name is not on the loan nor is there anything in the loan papers stating she is the only authorized person on the account upon his death) but will not talk to me – I had my mother pick up the phone.

  23. Never Again

    Steer clear of EnerBank USA for any sort of loan. Their statements are deceptive and do not show the entire history of the last billing cycle. Our statements began arriving BEFORE the work on our home was even done! Each statement arrived showing a first payment due date, but there was no mention of how much interest had accrued.

    Even after making payments, the statements arrive showing the payment, but NOT showing interest accrued. Customer service is friendly enough, but not at all helpful.

    The company is structured poorly, their statements do not include pertinent information, and there is NO WAY of tracking or checking your account online. Read through the reviews from years ago where they say that online account access is “coming soon”. It’s not!

  24. AVOID ENERBANK USA.

    It looks like they use a “bot” to search for keywords in these reviews, which trigger the same old replies time after time. If my only beef with these folks were the inability to access my account via the internet, that wouldn’t warrant my One Star Rating. I’d be happy with a statement that actually included the entire financial history for the billing period. Their statements do not.

    I have informed the contractor that set us up with EnerBank, and they were shocked to hear how we were being treated. We have been home owners for almost 40 years and I have NEVER seen a home improvement loan structured this way, presented so poorly, or whose statements are so poorly done. AVOID ENERBANK USA.

  25. Just make it stop.

    EnerBank makes it very clear who their valued customers are: Contractors. Not you. You are a nuisance they have to squeeze to get money for their contractors. Twice now, they have reviewed my payment record with them, and sent me a statement to tell me that a year ago last October (!), they received my October 10 payment on October 20.

    They received my payment 10 days late, so I must pay a late fee. I telephoned them and said I didn’t see how my payment could be received so late unless they had a very bad receipt system (Visa was sued for just that), and they said they would “waive this one-time fee, but it was a special exception.” Well, they just sent me another bill for that old fee they waived.

    Apparently, as far as paying customers are concerned, they wait until your lips stop moving, then say exactly what they said before. No, Andy, please don’t get on here and say you’re Andy and you’re sorry about that. Just make it stop.

  26. Will, try on my own to contact them

    I have ask many times for a statement, when I could even get to talk to someone (even just an annual statement), but has been over two years and still waiting. When I first started making payments I didn’t have a coupon book and was charged late payments, when I paid my payments weeks before they were due.

    Now, I have learned to have my lawyer ask for payment coupons a few months before the last book is over. To even get any service I have had to have a lawyer deal with them. So, when the coast of a lawyer is added to what you think you are saving … & I have had a real bad experience with Four Seasons Sunroom; that is how I got evolved with EnerBank USA.

    I’m not sure but I think there is a Four Seaons Lending shady deal in works with EnerBank USA. Will, try on my own to contact them, after that my attorney will have enough to take legal steps.

  27. I will never back with them again and warn others.

    We took out a 1 year interest free loan for backyard concrete in 2009. We pay our monthly amount for 12 months without receiving a bill. In late 2014, Enerbank reached out stating that we owed an additional $74 outstanding balance.

    After disagreeing, I decided to just pay the $74 amount yet now we owe a few hundred more. They have been a constant annoyance since then however I will not be making any more payments.

    The lack of communication for 5 years for a 1 year loan and then now being harassed for “finance and late fees” is simply unacceptable. I will never back with them again and warn others.

  28. Unbelievable

    Financed the purchase of a new furnace, air conditioner and water heater through Enerbank (rough year) through our installer. Filled out the loan information (we have 800+ credit) and was quickly approved.

    Only learn after the fact that that 1) there is no online means of making payments; 2) there are no online means of getting your balance or confirmation of payments; 3) company doesn’t issue statements monthly or yearly for that matter; 4) on their contact page,

    there is no means to e-mail them – just voice numbers. What company or banking institution in this day DOESN’T have some online presence or means of conducting business electronically? The only explanation is that their intent is to defraud their customers. Unbelievable.

    As such, we’ve tripled the payments we’re making (hopefully their being received!) each month with the intent of getting rid of them. I will say that their customer service reps are always courteous, and state that some online method of tracking balances is forthcoming (6 months now of saying that).

  29. When starting a new loan that is stacked you send all apps.

    When starting a new loan that is stacked you send all apps. at once and not explaining what is what and mistakes are made by signing both parts of the app when the first part is to be signed first to release start money to the install company and the the second part to be signed after the work is complete but nothing in the e-mail explains which to do first and which to do second and then the loan is done and payment is due before the work is complete.

    Even calling the help people you get the wrong info as to which to sign first and which to sign last. Very poor way of doing online business I personally would not tell anyone to do business with you unless changes are made A.S.A.P.

  30. It's just a terrible experience.

    Their entire setup is completely unacceptable. You can’t find your account balance, you can’t email them for help, their paper statements are useless if you plan on paying off your loan before the interest kicks in. It’s just a terrible experience.

  31. When starting a new loan that is stacked you send all apps.

    When starting a new loan that is stacked you send all apps. at once and not explaining what is what and mistakes are made by signing both parts of the app when the first part is to be signed first to release start money to the install company and the the second part to be signed after the work is complete but nothing in the e-mail explains which to do first and which to do second and then the loan is done and payment is due before the work is complete.

    Even calling the help people you get the wrong info as to which to sign first and which to sign last. Very poor way of doing online business I personally would not tell anyone to do business with you unless changes are made A.S.A.P.

  32. It's just a terrible experience.

    Their entire setup is completely unacceptable. You can’t find your account balance, you can’t email them for help, their paper statements are useless if you plan on paying off your loan before the interest kicks in. It’s just a terrible experience.

  33. Not a happy customer.

    I am very leery of the fact that a current balance isn’t available anywhere on their “site” – you can only make a payment. Even on paper statements sent, there is no current balance shown.

    It doesn’t show previous past payments either, just any activity that occurs on the account between each statement dates. I have never done business with any company where you can’t find this information easily without having to take time out of the work-day to call on the phone. Not a happy customer.

  34. Bad Service

    Not surprised by the negative reviews, this company is difficult to deal with and is somewhat in the dark ages [1980’s]. I’m actually on my second home improvement load with them but would rather deal with a different entity.

    The first was paid off on time via the auto pay, but after sending in the entry form on the coupon book (e.g. 1980’s), it took a call by me to confirm they received it and the first payment would processed on time.

    Now on the second loan I’m at least receiving some type of statements via snail mail unlike before, but surprise surprise, no paperless billing. Just unreal.

  35. There were times I was uncomfortable or uncertain about the company.

    The 2-star rating “Meh, I’ve experienced better” applies here, but it wasn’t that bad of an experience for me. My main complaint, as with others, is with the inability to see the remaining amount of your loan in the online payment system, but I see in the responses that they are working on rolling out a solution.

    The other thing I notice is that the replies to upset customer reviews here are considerate and professional. If they weren’t, I’d give Enerbank fewer stars. Additionally, every time I had to call, their reps were courteous and helpful. I never had a negative experience with an individual, although I understand it can happen.

    In my experience, the interest rate wasn’t great and the daily interest accrual is frightening, but I had always planned to pay off my loan as soon as possible. If you’re not able to do the same, definitely consider a bank with better loan terms. There were times I was uncomfortable or uncertain about the company.

  36. I do not want or need to be charged to make payments just to access online.

    The major downside is not being able to log into an account to view payments made, how much is owed, etc. When I spoke to a representative, I was told the only way to access it is by making a payment via the website. I do not want or need to be charged to make payments just to access online.

  37. The down side is online you cannot see what the loan balance is.

    The down side is online you cannot see what the loan balance is. This can only be achieved by calling customer service. Luckily I got a knowledgeable service person. Was able to get my balance and paid loan off before deferred interest was added.

    I would neither recommend nor not recommend this bank. Only went with them because of the deferred interest because planned to pay off before interest was added to principle.

  38. I would use this service again, if necessary.

    Fairly good lender. Communication was very snail-speed. It was great that we had the option to defer interest if we paid in full before a certain date. I would use this service again, if necessary.

  39. At the beginning of our association,

    At the beginning of our association, so far great customer service and professional associates.

  40. Sticking with rating but not the least happy with the opacity of the system.

    Update on earlier post. It is impossible to figure out your loan. They charge daily interest so the only way to find out the balance is to calculate what it is if you know the day they cash the check. The best I can figure out is the only way to tell would be to set up a spread sheet to track the extra principal payments and use it to double check on their calculations.

    They will give you the formula but it is way beyond my excel abilities and you would still need to know when the check was cashed. Sticking with rating but not the least happy with the opacity of the system.

  41. This is liable to not be the first post on this subject.

    This is liable to not be the first post on this subject. I have a $10349.00 loan with enerBank First payment was for $95.67 so I paid a $100. Second statement arrives I am told I paid $87.27 for principal and $12.73 interest per the statement I was sent.

    Mailed the second payment sent $200 in on a payment amount of $95.67. receive my second statement and I find that I paid $152.30 in principal and $47.70 in interest. The statements show the payments received at least a week prior to the due date.

    For a fully amortized loan this seems exceptionally questionable. I will be calling Monday trying to get an amortization schedule and trying to figure out if I send in $300 this month if I will be paying closer to $60 in interest. I am giving it a conditional 3 stars since the only time I needed to call them they did answer the phone.

  42. Update on earlier post. It is impossible to figure out your loan.

    Update on earlier post. It is impossible to figure out your loan. They charge daily interest so the only way to find out the balance is to calculate what it is if you know the day they cash the check.

    The best I can figure out is the only way to tell would be to set up a spread sheet to track the extra principal payments and use it to double check on their calculations.

    They will give you the formula but it is way beyond my excel abilities and you would still need to know when the check was cashed. Sticking with rating but not the least happy with the opacity of the system

  43. This was yet another call to understand.

    Overall I have been satisfied with the service provided by EnerBank. The loan was very easy to get for my home improvement project. I was paying 1/2 and financing half. The rates are high but it is enticing to get 1-year interest free but you do need to understand that the the interst acumilates in the background and you will need to pay it in full if you do not payoff the loan in 12 months…something I would have no trouble doing.

    So why 3 stars if everything is working out well for me? All the information about their product is spelled out but on the front end it is not clear how payments are made. In 2016 I’d assume I could make online payments and check my account balance and easily get my payoff amount…but you cannot. This might be hard for many people has I know a lot of people that no longer have ‘hard’ checks. I have not written a check in 10 years! So this is #1 way they make if difficult to pay off your loan.

    I did find their Service Reps to be very helpful on the phone and was always given the information I needed. The #2 way they make it hard to pay…kind of…is that the monthly statements “amount due” only represents the interst amount that is accrued monthly. If you only pay this amount you will do nothing to reduce your principle balance.

    Now, there is nothing wrong with them doing this and there is a large and bold text on the statement that should help you understand but once again it took me a phone call to really understand how they were doing this. #3 When looking at the statement, it seems that your payment is being split into principle and interst payments but that is not really the case during the 12 months no interst. This was yet another call to understand.

Brickyard Road 1245
Salt Lake City 84106 UT US
Get directions
Reviews:43
Reported Loss :3252 $
Severity of Scam :Medium
Reported by : Anonymous
Views :